logolong

New to the Forum

More
8 years 4 months ago #60395 by Daylight
New to the Forum was created by Daylight
Hello everyone.

My name is Dawn, & I just discovered this forum.

I'm a business professional who's having to re-learn how to navigate through the world, now that I'm severely physically disabled.

I have multiple disabilities, most stemming from what started out as 'pinched nerves', but rapidly became permanent severe nerve damage, complete with the resultant loss of hand/finger dexterity, paralysis of my hands, near zero arm strength, & related issues. The nerves are still pinched so the damage, & pain, are ongoing.

If anyone has tips, tricks, or ideas on how to navigate not only physically through the world (when you can't open most doors by yourself), but also how to navigate the social/political minefield that being a disabled employee can be, I'd love to hear them!

For instance, how do you communicate to new people/colleagues that to accept a lunch invitation, you need to go somewhere accessible? And not just the front door being automatic, but also the restrooms? And the food that's served there needs to be something I can physically eat, too (I may never eat soup, or steak, again).

I appreciate any advice or tips anyone can offer!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 4 months ago #60400 by riversidemarie
Replied by riversidemarie on topic New to the Forum