logolong

Disability

More
7 years 11 months ago #62229 by Kazbot74
Disability was created by Kazbot74
Hi guys
I'm a newbie and I'm disabled would like to ask any of you if my partner goes to work will it affect my dla/pip I am on higher rate mobility and middle rate care, my partner does get carers for looking after me but he is wanting to seek work because he wants to start paying his PAYE tax etc, we have no savings and I'm just scared if he does go back to work will it lessen my dla/pip, hope you can help. Thanks everyone.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 11 months ago #62235 by BUBBADOG14
Replied by BUBBADOG14 on topic Disability
It shouldn't, my husband works, he is self employed and I still get PIP & ESA as it is now known, I get higher rate mobility and middle rate care component. It is a mind field trying to sort these things and I swear they are trying to confuse you with all the questions!! Any questions please don't hesitate to ask. :)

More
7 years 10 months ago - 7 years 10 months ago #62242 by ladyship
Replied by ladyship on topic Disability
It will not affect your DLA/PIP. However he will no longer be able to claim carers allowance IF HE IS NOT ABLE TO PROVE HE IS SPENDING THE 35 HOURS CARING FOR YOU.
So depends on the hours hubby works. also a limit to how much he earns, Read this;
www.disabilityrightsuk.org/carers-allowance-ca
Last edit: 7 years 10 months ago by ladyship. Reason: correction

More
7 years 10 months ago #62247 by Karl
Replied by Karl on topic Disability
Carer's Allowance

What is carers allowance?
Carer's allowance is a benefit for people who regularly spend at least 35 hours a week caring for a disabled person. Any savings you have do not affect your carer’s allowance.

What are the rules?
To get carer's allowance you must:

be caring for a person who is receiving a qualifying benefit (see below);
be aged 16 or over;
be caring for at least 35 hours a week;